Whether we’re conscious of it or not, to stay healthy and happy, we all rely on the pure healing energies that are swirling around and inside our bodies. These energies are located in our seven energy centers—called chakras—that extend from the base of our spines to the tops of our heads, and each chakra regulates specific emotions in our minds and physical systems in our bodies.

Our chakras are influenced by everything we do, and although they naturally move in and out of alignment, it’s not a good thing when they’re unbalanced. When this happens, our bodies tell us so, with signs ranging from physical pain to spiritual disconnectedness to emotional disruptions like difficulty concentrating, feelings of helplessness and insomnia.

To balance (or unblock) your chakras, you can try a number of stress-reduction techniques, including meditation, yoga, breathwork, healing stones, crystals, or even color therapy, since each chakra is associated with a different color.

Scents of Awe, a maker of high-vibration aromatic oils, also offers a series of botanical blends that relate specifically to each chakra, and just a few drops can help you reconnect to the forces of nature and restore your chakra alignment.

Here are the body’s seven chakras, and the color and oil associated with each:

First Chakra: Root

The root chakra, located at the base of the spine, is the foundation for all of the chakras, so it’s especially important that it remains balanced. Blocks in the first chakra—tied to the skeletal system, adrenal glands, lymphatic system, bladder, elimination system, legs, feet, and ankles—can lead to anxiety and worry, resulting in a disconnection from the world. Wear red to feel more grounded, and try a drop or two of Pachamama oil at the base of your spine or on the soles of your feet.

Second Chakra: Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra, located under the belly button, represents birth, both physically and symbolically, as in the birth of new ideas. Blocks in the second chakra can result in disruptions in your gut, leading to negative emotions throughout the body. When you balance the sacral chakra, you invite pleasure and wellbeing into your life. Surround yourself with the color orange, and try a drop or two of Fearlessly Free oil at your belly button to increase sensuality, sexuality and passion.

Third Chakra: Solar Plexus

The solar plexus chakra is the base for your personal power, representing self-esteem, willpower, and your unique life’s purpose. Resting at the solar plexus (just above the belly button), this chakra is the seat of your personal power. If you’re experiencing low self-esteem, depression or the inability to set boundaries—or if you’re suffering from physical ailments like ulcers, nausea, diabetes, nerve pain or arthritis—it’s possible that your solar plexus chakra is blocked. To boost your physical energy and metabolism, gravitate toward the color yellow, and try a few drops of Fire Belly oil on your tummy.

Fourth Chakra: Heart Chakra

Love, joy and compassion—these three complex (yet wonderful) human emotions are related to the heart chakra. If you find that your heart is closed to connection, compassion, empathy, selflessness and devotion, your heart chakra could be blocked. Dab a few drops of Heroic Heart oil near your heart, and be mindful of the color green.

Fifth Chakra: Throat

If you’re trusting others, expressing your creativity and speaking your truth, you’re harnessing the power of your body’s essential communication center—your throat chakra, which also relates to the neck and thyroid. If you’re keeping your feelings bottled up, or struggling with communication-related activities like public speaking or singing, dab a few drops of Speak Your Truth oil at your throat. And try wearing the color blue, especially a garment that touches your throat, like a blue turtleneck or scarf.

Sixth Chakra: Third Eye

Right between your eyebrows is the third eye chakra, the center of your intuition. It relates to your forehead, temples and pituitary gland and assists you in accessing your imagination, trusting your intuition and embracing your dreams. Open up your psychic outlets by embracing the color indigo, and use a few drops of Indigo Vision Quest oil to keep your third eye chakra balanced.

Seventh Chakra: Crown

The crown chakra, at the top of your head, is associated with your brain, head, nervous system and pineal gland, making it your prime source of connection to spirit and divine energy. For a clearer connection, help guide all of your important energy to the top of your body with a few drops of Crown Your Life oil, and wear the color purple to increase your body’s vibrations.

Read Judy Hall’s Stones for Healing Your Hidden Chakras and Harnessing the Energy of the Earth’s Chakras. 

Explore our Unlocking the Power of Your Seven Chakras book list.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the author

Lisa Truesdale is a full-time freelance writer and editor based in Colorado. She writes regularly about healthy living, wellness, fitness, food and drink, home and garden, and travel and tourism for a variety of regional, national and international publications and websites, including Delicious Living, Travel to Wellness, Bodhi Tree, Gaiam, and Real Food Traveler.