Body, Mind & Spirit

Clearing Your Chakras with Color Therapy

Published on May 10, 2017

Article by Meredith Sloane for Bodhi Tree

Color therapy is based on the theory that the vibrations of different hues can be used to heal both physical and emotional ailments. This is what I do in my practice as a rainbow energy healer. To understand this, first you should know that each color has its own wavelength on the visible light spectrum. Shorter-wavelength shades, like violet and blue, have faster frequencies and vibrate more than those with longer wavelengths, like red. Different colors have different properties, and color therapy uses each shade’s light vibration on skin to aid the body in healing emotional and physical trauma.

The History of Color Therapy

In the 1950s, scientist Robert Gerard used an electroencephalogram (EEG), a device that detects electrical activity in the brain, to prove that colors do in fact affect both the body and mind in a very specific manner. He was able to test the reactions of each area of the body when different colored lights were beamed on the skin. Gerard’s findings were extensive, with data showing that the color red increased the amount of energy in the body, while blue relaxed the body. Charles Klotsche, author of Color Medicine, writes, “By matching corresponding wavelengths to the organs and systems of the body, it strengthens or sedates energy in the distressed areas, creating a support system for the healing process.”

In modern times, color healing and its relation to the chakras is an area of increasing interest and research. Chakras are energy centers along the spine that are tied to various organs and systems of the body, with emotional and spiritual qualities. Documentation of the chakras dates back the ancient Sanskrit Upanishad texts around the eighth century BC in India. In this tradition, each chakra vibrates at a particular frequency (or color). According to color therapy, certain shades can help balance different chakras and the physical emotional systems associated with them.

First Chakra: Red

The first chakra, or root chakra, vibrates with the color red. Located at the base of the spine, this chakra represents physicality, home, grounding, needs and survival. Physically, it’s tied to the skeletal system, adrenal glands, lymphatic system, bladder, elimination system, legs, feet and ankles. This chakra is the foundation of all the chakras, which is why it’s so important to keep it in balance. Blocks in the first chakra can cause anxiety, disconnection from the world around you, and worry. I suggest to my clients to wear the color red to feel more solid and connected to the earth.

Second Chakra: Orange

The second chakra vibrates with the color orange. Located under the belly button, this chakra represents creativity, sensuality, emotions, sexuality and one-on-one relationships. It also embodies birth—both physically, in the womb or reproductive system, and symbolically, in the birth of new ideas. If you feel stuck with a new project or overly emotional, try wearing the color orange to open your creativity and balance your emotions.

Third Chakra: Yellow

The third chakra vibrates with the color yellow. Resting at the solar plexus, this chakra is the seat of your personal power. The third chakra represents willpower, self-esteem and life purpose. It’s also related to physical energy, metabolism, the muscular system, large intestine, stomach, pancreas and liver. If you need to boost your confidence, yellow is a great hue to wear.

Fourth Chakra: Green

The fourth chakra vibrates with the color green. This heart chakra represents love, joy and compassion. Physically, it relates to the heart, lungs, chest area and thymus gland. If you’re feeling sad or your heart is closed, try wearing green for some uplifting vibration.

Fifth Chakra: Blue

The fifth chakra vibrates with the color blue. The throat chakra is all about speaking your truth, trusting and expressing your creativity. Physically, it relates to the throat, neck and thyroid. Try wearing a blue turtleneck or scarf if you feel you can’t express what’s on your mind or you have fear of speaking in public.

Sixth Chakra: Indigo

The sixth chakra lies in the space between the eyebrows and is often referred to as the third eye. This chakra vibrates with the color indigo and is the center of your intuition. It’s all about trusting your intuition, imagination and manifesting your dreams. Physically, this sixth chakra relates to the forehead, temples and pituitary gland. Indigo is a great color to wear if you’re trying to trust your intuition and open up your psychic outlets.

Seventh Chakra: Purple

The seventh chakra, or the crown chakra, is at the top of the head and vibrates with the color violet, which has the shortest wavelength on the visible color spectrum. This means that violet vibrates at the fastest frequency and has the “highest” vibration. Physically, this chakra relates to the head, brain, nervous system and pineal gland. The crown chakra is your connection to spirit and divine energy. If you want to raise your vibration, purple is your best choice.

Let the Colors of the Rainbow Heal You

In spite of its long history and more recent scientific research, color therapy is still considered an alternative therapy and is often used in conjunction with other types of healing, especially as a powerful aid when working on an issue in a specific chakra. By bringing awareness to a troubled area and adding color, one can begin to shift the vibration of that chakra. Rainbow healers believe this shift can trigger the body’s own healing process. You can also add to the practice by eating foods, lighting candles, visualizing and meditating on, or simply filling your home with those hues to help raise the vibrations of that shade in your system. Don’t get discouraged if you don’t see immediate results. Rainbow healing can be a gradual process that manifests over time as you connect to and develop a relationship with each color.

Published on: May 10, 2017

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,